If the Hose Fits

“Hey Lola, do you mind pulling on my hose a bit? It seems to be stuck!”

heard in the distance, “sounds like a personal problem to me…”

I hate it when that happens. Trying to water the animals, but the hose won’t cooperate.

“Gosh Lola. Sometimes it shoots out without any problem whatsoever, while other times, I can’t get it to work at all!”

heard in the distance, “sounds like a personal problem to me…”

I might just have to ask the fellows down at the Bent Antler, if they too have such difficulties! Maybe theirs is hard to get working, having to pull and tug at it until their hands get raw in the process?”

-heard in the distance, “sounds like a personal problem to me…”

“Lola, is that another Double Entendre, or something?” I’ve been meaning to read that book, but somebody always seems to get in my way, while I… well I guess, I’ll get around to it sooner or later?

I had gotten up extra early to hitch a ride to the coast, while Lola did her thing with the Caribou Cart. Sometimes, she just wanted to be alone with her thoughts, and a rifle or two, pointing out imaginary adversaries and blowing them to Kingdom Come! I never asked for details as to who was getting shot, but I felt it to be the best recourse depending on what she thought about me at the time!

I thought of taking a look at those gravels, mentioned of in Soil Survey of Lower Kenai
Peninsula Area, which I have been told will soon be put to music and performed at the Playhouse in

“What?” Sorry about that, but Lola just yelled something and if experience has taught  me anything about her, I’d better stop playing with my hose and hightail it over to her!

I looked over to Mt Redoubt and wondered about having a climb to the top one of these days, but Lola told me something about a dream she had and tends to punch me if I even mention Mt Re-, well, I’m almost inside again, and

“Did I hear you mention the name of that Volcano again? Well. Did I?”

“Hey Lola, what a fine set of boxes you have there! Look like shoe boxes, and if the shoe fits, then

“I’ve loaded my rifles, but we can still shoot the breeze while the safety is still on, unless you want to try my patience a bit more, well?”

Kind of reminds me of the first time, I met Lola. I was down at the local Mom and Pop Grocery Store, when the shopkeeper answered his phone. He started to put Donald Duck Comics and a bottle or two of 7-Up into a bag, then ducked down low under the counter looking for something else. I waited and watched while he pulled out a Rubber Chicken and put it in the bag as well.  He then turned to me and said”Hey Buddy. Want to make some fast cash? Perfectly legal and all. Just keep your head down, and your mouth shut and I’m sure you’ll be fine!”

I wasn’t having the best day selling my Imitation Moose Mats for the front step, and the Imitation Grizzly Bear Rugs were a real hard sell in this Heat Wave of our Alaskan Summer, so I thought, “What the hay!”

I pulled my winter coat around my neck and put on my summer gloves, and waited until the Snow Plow rolled on by, until I thought it was safe enough to journey outside, before the sun went down, this side of Autumn.

It wasn’t that far away, but the signs outside “Danger”, “TNT is safer, try that instead” and “Have you updated your gun-related accident insurance?”

I just rang the doorbell, remembering to duck immediately afterwards, hoping that it was my head, someone was pointing at?

Inside there was a woman. Not just any woman, but a real live, genuine woman with all of the necessary parts and functions, but not that I was trying them out, it was just a feeling I had, that’s all! She  motioned me over to her bed, using an object resembling a 30-30 Winchester, but I have been wrong about those kind of things before!

“What’cha got in the bag, Stranger?” she said, but then “I’d be really careful when you put your hand down inside, and pull what is down there out, re…..a…..l…..sl….ow!”

I did as commanded, and was almost walking backwards when my hand reached down and found the Donald Duck Comics and 7-Up. I thought, I’d wait a bit with the Rubber Chicken, just a thought, that’s all.

While she was reading about the antics of Scrooge McDuck and Donald, and sipping the 7-Up through a straw, I carefully found the Rubber Chicken, and tied it to frame at the foot of her bed.

She just sat up, dropping Donald and her 7-Up and fingering her rifle, saying”What in the world do you think, you are doing with that Rubber Chicken?”

I actually had a million reasons for doing so, but could only say the one of them “I thought you’d get a bit of a laugh, if I tied this Chicken to your bed-frame”!” I then went over to her kitchen, coming back with a cold-compress (no ice) and placed it on her head, before praying!

Lola just lay back and smiled, as if I had pleased her in a way that was, well pleasing! I just told her to lie back while I read about those Ducks, and she sipped the 7-Up out of the straw, and smiled a bit when she saw that Rubber Chicken, at her feet.

We got on pretty good back then, with the one thing leading to the other, when one day, she said”

Can you see what is stuck down this dark hole? I can’t seem to pull it out, but it is getting thicker all the time! And just when we were about to go on our excursions! Now we’ll have to work on it, or there will be hell to pay, when we return!

I just took off my coat, and rolled up my shirt sleeves, while Lola slipped into something more tearable, I mean, comfortable, and the day just went along its way, with this and that happening, but you know what? I won’t need to contact the fellows down at the Bent Antler, as we, the both of us that is, solved the problem together, although it did take us most of the day, and night to do so…

Then I said “Hey Lola, remember the first time we met…….